Jim Willey

Yesterday when I arrived home from work, my husband gave me a gift from Mrs. Maxine Willey and her family. It was a New Testament Bible that Rev. Jim Willey, my former boss had. Jim was a true hero of the faith, but he was also one of my heroes. He taught me so much during those years that we worked together.

I will never forget the luncheon we had with a SC Baptist Convention Representative and a “Real-Life” Missionary. As I listened that day to their conversation of how the Lord had used each of them, I began to feel real small. I told that to Jim later. “Don’t you ever let the devil do that to you again”, he said with tears running down his face. “You are a great servant of the Lord. You work just as hard for God as I have. He just put us in different places. We all stand on equal ground before Him. We are in this together and we are all important to God.”

I found this scripture highlighted in the New Testament that I received–“Who then is Paul, and who is Apollos, but ministers by who ye believed, even as the Lord gave to every man? I have planted. Apollos watered: but God gave the increase. So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth: but God giveth the increase. Now he that planteth and he that watereth are one: and every man shall receive his own reward according to his own labour. For we are labourers together with God: ye are his husbandry, ye are God’s building”. 1 Corinthians 3:5-9

Jim taught me that it wasn’t the “things” we did for God, it was the heart behind it. Everything we do in obedience of faith is wonderful in God’s eyes. It doesn’t matter if we lead 1 or 1000 souls to Christ. What matters is how faithful we were to what he asked us to do.

Jim always preferred his friend over himself. He taught me it was okay to stand in the shadows and lift up my brother or sister in Christ. Jesus never shines more brighter in you, then when you lift up (encourage, cheer on) your friends.

So my message today from God is to work where He has put you. Encourage those around you to use their gifts and talents to enhance the kingdom. Remember we are in this together. One purpose, One result for the One and Only.

Because I know…..

Renee
Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

