God has a scrub brush!

A while back I invited God to come in and do an inspection of my spiritual house. Beware when you invite Him to come and do a “spring cleaning” on your spiritual house, He comes with a broom, mop, trash bags and a SCRUB BRUSH! I can handle the other three okay, but that scrub brush hurts!

Let me tell you what He did with that scrub brush….There in the back of my soul were some marks that had been left from my younger days. They were so old I had forgotten about them until one Sunday morning.

As I came out from Sunday School, there she sat. The girl who had always picked out my flaws. We had went to school together all our lives. She made sure every one knew I was not as smart as her. She had a way of intimidating me that made me cower down and feel very inferior.

“Why was she here? This is my domain, Lord.”

Of all days for my husband to do his “Go hug someone and tell them you love them” it had to be done today. And of course, the Lord said “Go hug her and tell her you love her.”

My immediate thought was not that I wanted to put my arms around her for a hug, more like a headlock! “I can not do that Lord”, I said in rebellion. “Yes, you can. I’ll go with you.”

I made my way to her, shaking in my shoes the whole time. I reached out and pulled her into a hug and said, “I love you.” Something wonderful happened. No she didn’t apologize, matter of fact she said nothing. But there were tears in her eyes. The something wonderful happened inside of me.

Have you ever seen a helium balloon released from the grips of someone’s hand? That’s how I felt. I felt as thought I had been released from a lifetime of belittlement, of bullying and being harassed. I could feel my soul soaring like that balloon high above the treetops and off towards heaven.

God had to use the scrub brush to get those marks off my soul and to bring healing. Sometimes we don’t understand why God allows things to happen or why He asks certain things of us. But, my friend, it is always turns out for our good. If I’d never been bound up, I would know what it was like to be free.

I want to share this verse and quote that was on my Brother-in-law, Brian Kinlaw’s status on Face Book….

“Only a great God like ours can take the pains and struggles of life and turn them to joy and dancing. Praise God!”

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy, that I might sing praises to you and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever!”
Psalm 30:11-12

All I can say is scrub away!!!!

For I know,

Renee Kinlaw
Job 19:25-27

One thought on “God has a scrub brush!

Leave a Reply

