From the Mountain Top

For one week of the past three years, a group from our church has been blessed to travel to Cleveland, Tennessee to do ministry in that area. Each year we spend the week at the Mountain View Inn. The inn sits high on the mountain. The view from the top of the mountain is breathtaking and well worth the struggle to the top.

Looking down from the top we seeing rolling hills of green. There are flowers that grow from the top of the mountain down to the valley below. There is a small lake that children and adults alike take advantage of during the summer. The sunset and the sunrise is somehow more beautiful and inspiring from the top of the mountain than it is in the valley. It seems that you can almost touch heaven from the top of the mountain. My words fail in comparison to the grandeur of the view.

Today as I thought back over Mike’s sermon from yesterday–“Victory in the Valley”, I began to think of some of the valleys I had gone through. I am sure liked myself, you too, have asked “Why Lord?” Why must I go through these things.

Upon searching the scriptures I found the answer in Deuteronomy Chapter Four. Moses was giving some of his last instructions and warnings to the children of Israel. He was reminding them of the covenant God had made with them and how God had led them out from bondage of the Egyptians. Moses also pointed back to the many miracles that they had seen from the hand of God. All of this he said was for one purpose.

“Unto thee it was showed, that thou mightiest know that the LORD he is God: there is none else beside him.” Deuteronomy 4:35.

So today standing high upon the mountain top I want to thank Him for the valleys and the lessons I learned there. I want to thank Him for showing me that HE alone is God and there is no other. I want to thank Him for the miracles of the valleys. For the way that each one molded me and made me into the person that I am today.

Here is an old song the Rambo’s used to sing called “Thank YOU For The Valley I Walk Through Today”…

THANK YOU FOR THE VALLEY

Thank you for the valley I walked through today.
The darker the valley, the more I learned to pray.
I found you where the lilies are, Blooming by the way,
And I thank you for the valley I walked through today.

Thank you for every hill I climbed.
For every time the sun didn’t shine.
Thank you for every lonely night.
I prayed ’til I knew everything was all right.

Life can’t be all sunshine. All the flowers would die.
The rivers would be deserts, all barren and dry.
Life can’t be all blessings or, there’d be no need to pray.
So I thank you for the valley I walked through today.

Thank you for every hill I climbed.
For every time the sun didn’t shine.
Thank you for every lonely night.
I prayed ’til I knew everything was all right.

Thank you for the valley, I walked through today.
(Author unknown.)

Thank You LORD for the Valleys, because if there where no valleys there would be no Mountain Top Views!

For I know,

Renee
Job 19:25-27

One thought on “From the Mountain Top

Leave a Reply

