The Curse of the Apple Fritter

There I stood in between the Dunkin Donut display and the fruit display of our local convenience store. I could hear the Holy Spirit whispering choose the banana. Standing there as though frozen in time I glanced from the banana’s to the donuts. Back and forth, back and forth, you get the picture.

Just as I was about to grab the banana, when one of the workers walked by with a tray of fresh-baked apple fritters. Oh, they smelled so good. The icing was just glistening and calling to me. Eat me. Eat me. Why I am fruit too. I am an apple fritter!

My mouth began to water as the girl so tenderly took the Apple Fritters from the cooking tray and placed them gently on the display tray. Sweat began to form as I asked, “What to do? What to do?” And again I heard loud and clear, “GET THE BANANA!” But look at them. The glaze is starting to harden. It looks so sweet and yummy! “GET THE BANANA!”

I’ll just walk over and look at them. In my mind I began to estimate what caloric value was in the apple fritter. Let’s see, an average donut has about 260 calories. This can’t be much more than 300. Then I began to bargain with God. I promise I will exercise this afternoon. I will not have any other snacks today. I’ll even skip supper if I absolutely have too.

Again, I heard the voice of the Holy Spirit, “You need to get the banana, Renee. Remember you asked me to help you. That’s what I am trying to do.”

“But, I haven’t even had lunch and that Fiber One cereal from seven o’clock this morning is all gone. I’m starving. Just this one time, please.”, I pleaded with Him.

“You know what is best, but the choice is still yours to make.”

I grabbed the apple fritter trying to hid it in the little white bag. Making my way to the cashier I could feel the Holy Spirit walking behind me with His head hung low. “Don’t look at me that way. It’s just this one time.”

Overcome by guilt I quickly devoured the apple fritter not even getting to enjoy the pleasure of it’s warm sweetness. I came home and greeted my husband not with a kiss or hug but with conviction pouring on my soul, “I have willfully sinned against God!”

“What did you do?”, he asked really concerned. I cried, “I ate the apple fritter!”

That was over three weeks ago. I haven’t been back inside that store since that day. I turn my head when I drive by. No, it wasn’t worth it.

The apple fritter brought me shame, disgrace and guilt. Not only that but it added to the weight problem I already struggle with. It gave me a rush and dropped me like yesterdays trash. There was nothing that came from the apple fritter that added to my happiness. Just a passing pleasure that left me empty in the end.

The banana on the other hand would have given me a boost in energy while being beneficial to my health and weight problem. It would have filled the hunger and would have provided nutrients my body needed. And I would not have had to deal with the guilt, shame an disgrace that I now suffered.

God told the Children of Israel in Deuteronomy chapter 11 that He was giving them a choice. They could choose that which brought lasting happiness or choose that which brought temporal pleasure.

“Behold, I set before you this day a blessing and a curse; A blessing, if ye obey the commandments of the LORD your God, which I command you this day: And a curse, if ye will not obey the commandments of the LORD your God, but turn aside out of the way which I command you this day, to go after other gods, which ye have not known.” Deuteronomy 11:26-28 KJV

I’m not saying that eating the apple fritter was my sin. My sin was not being obedient to the Holy Spirit. I choose the curse.

“Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is a sin.” James 4:17 KJV.

I sinned because I knew that what God was telling me through the Holy Spirit was good for me, but I choose to follow my own lust instead of following God’s direction and command.

While it might not always be an apple fritter that brings me to my knees, God sure let me fall that time. Every time I have a decision to make I recall the banana and the apple fritter. I sure don’t want to go back there and have to deal that great a guilt again.

God sets before us blessings and curses. Which one will you choose?

For I know,

Renee
Job 19:25-27

One thought on “The Curse of the Apple Fritter

Leave a Reply

