Treasure Seekers

treasure-map-hiJayden has loved going on “adventures” ever since I can remember.  She loves to roam around the yard and through the woods seeking hidden treasures.  She holds each one close  and oohs and ahs over them until the next one is found.  Over the years we have discarded many odd-shaped tree branches, multi-colored leaves, glistening rocks, tree bark and even weeds from our home.

Although she is still young, she has taught me a lot about “treasure-seeking” through our adventures.   Every day she looks for something new that God has placed in her world.   I wonder, as I watch her,  how many treasures I have missed along the way because I wasn’t seeking them?

Jesus said in Matthew 7:7, those who seek shall find.  I believe if God freely gave me His Word, the Bible, to be my map, and the Holy Spirit to be my guide, then He must have some wonderful treasures for me to find.  Each nugget of truth that He reveals is another gem for my treasure box.  Some of those gems lead to praise, some to thanksgiving, some to repentance, but each one is highly cherished.

Quoting Isaiah, Paul said in 1 Corinthians 2:9:

“But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.”

God has so many wonders He longs to show us.  His plans and gifts for us are beyond what our human minds can dare to dream of.   That truth should inspire us all to set aside time to treasure hunt with God.  He has blessed us all beyond measure already and  try imagining what He has in store for the days yet to come.

King David, a man after God’s on heart,  was definitely on to something in Psalms 63 when he said:

“O God, thou are my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; to see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.  Because thy loving-kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.  Thus will I bless thee while I live: o will lift up my hands in thy name.  My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips: when I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.  Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.”

Knowing God has priceless treasure awaiting us, we should seek after Him each day.  Each sunrise should awaken our souls with a thirst for Him.  Each sunset should find us praising Him for the gifts of that day.  Each night, we should close our eyes in rest, thinking of Him.  Then our souls would be satisfied from the riches of the Kingdom.

The more time we spend “treasure-seeking” with God, the more we find to praise Him for.   The more we spend under the shadow of His wings rejoicing in the blessings He has given us, the lest time we spend vulnerable to the attacks of Satan.  That in itself is a priceless treasure!

For I know~~Renee

Job 19:25-27

2 thoughts on “Treasure Seekers

  1. Pingback: Treasure Seekers | living in abundance

Leave a Reply

