The Great Squirrel Chaser

The door opens and he is off like a strike of lightening. “Buddy” the Great Squirrel Chaser! Grunting with cheeks and ears flapping in the wind, he gives it all he’s got. His overweight body that barely lets him move when I ask him to, suddenly becomes lighter than air as he springs forth into the chase. Every single time they beat him and he is left empty handed.

Watching him panting underneath the tree I wonder why does he continue to chase them?

For many years, I did just like Buddy. Every chance I got I was chasing after what I thought would bring me happiness and peace only to find myself coming up empty and disappointed. Then one miraculous day, my chase lead me to the feet of Jesus. Realizing He alone could bring me what I so desperately needed, I accepted His gift of Salvation. From that day forward everything I have ever wanted has been poured out on me.

God asked His people, through the Prophet Isaiah, why they continued to chase after what left them unsatisfied.

“Ho! Everyone who thirsts, Come to the waters; And you who have no money, Come, buy and eat. Yes, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price. 2 Why do you spend money for what is not bread, And your wages for what does not satisfy? Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good, and let your soul delight itself in abundance. 3 Incline your ear, and come to Me. Hear, and your soul shall live; —The sure mercies of David.” (Isaiah 55:1-3 NKJV)

The same offer has been extended to us all. This great invitation was repeated by Jesus in Chapter 11 of Matthew:

“Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30 KJV).

In the beginning God created all things, but the first thing He created was happiness. When He spoke light into existence on that first day, He spoke happiness. The word used there for light, also means happiness. God intended for you and I to be happy. He wanted us to have joy and peace. It was never His will for us to have to chase after it, it was His free gift.

Even though His gift was rejected, He offered it again on a hill called Calvary. True and eternal happiness can only be obtained through a relationship with God. Apart from God, there is no happiness, no joy and no peace.

My husband, my daughter, my job nor anything else can bring me Happiness, it was obtained when I gave my life to Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace. Let Him give you His peace. It is yours for the asking.

“Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved.” (Acts 16:31) “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Romans 10:13)

After you have invited Him to live within your soul as Lord and Savior, I beg of you, chase after Him with all your might. I promise you He will not leave you disappointed!

“Happy is he that hath the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God:” Psalm 146:5

For I know~Renee
Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

