Let it Shine, Let it Shine, Let it Shine

A few years ago, an elderly lady of our church told me she wanted me to come with Mike and visit with her. So the next week, Mike and I went to her home. After a few minutes of talking and sharing old memories with us, she stood up and went into her bedroom. She came back with a candle holder. As she held the wood based candle holder in her hands, she told me she didn’t have the original candle that fit inside the glass globe, but she wanted me to have it.

She then told me how she came to have that candle holder. Many years ago, she and my Grandmother were active in the women’s group at our church. She said they participated in secret sisters and my Grandmother had given her that as a gift over 30 years ago. She had taken great care of it because it meant a lot to her.

She placed it in my hands and told me it was my gift now. She said, “Now wouldn’t your Grandma be surprised to know that you had her candle holder”. She chuckled and then said, “I wonder what they say about you being the Preacher’s Wife?” Then she told me I had the same light within me that my grandparents had and now it was time to let it shine.

Several years have passed since that day, and that sweet little lady is now in the presence of the True Light. I have taken care of that candle holder and display it proudly with other items that were passed on from my Grandparents. They did not have large bank accounts or masses of land to hand down to their children and grand-children, but the inheritance they left far outweighs gold or silver. My Grandparents left behind a long legacy of Christian values.

I am proud of my heritage and I pray that some day, my little girl will say the same. For that reason, I must continue the legacy.

“Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:14-16)

“But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus our Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts to give the light of knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” (2 Corinthians 4:3-6)

If I want my little girl to follow their footsteps, then I must led the way.

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine. This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.
Won’t let Satan blow it out. I’m gonna let it shine. Won’t let Satan blow it out. I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.
Let it shine til Jesus comes. I’m gonna let it shine. Let it shine til Jesus comes. I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.
Hide it under a bushel, no! I’m gonna let it shine. Hide it under a bushel, no! I’m gonna let it shine, Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.
Let it shine over the whole wide world, I’m gonna let it shine. Let it shine over the whole wide world,
I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine…”

For I know ~~ Renee
Job 19:25-27

3 thoughts on “Let it Shine, Let it Shine, Let it Shine

Leave a Reply

