THE ANGEL FEELING

Image

Jayden came home with the above picture in her backpack.  Taking it out and looking at it I was somewhat curious as to why she had drawn this.

“It’s nothing really.  It’s just my feelings.”

“When did you draw this?”, I asked.

“During recess time”, she replied.

“Did something happen that caused you to make this?”

“No.”

“Can you tell me about it?”

“Do I have to?” she huffed.

“I would really like for you to talk with me about it.”

Sighing she started pointing to each word and color.  Sometimes you feel sad.  Sometimes mad.  Then sometimes you feel good.  Then sometimes you are hurt and feel bad.  Sometimes you feel like your heart is breaking.

Picking up quickly I pointed to the yellow box with “angle” in it.

“This is for when you feel angry”, I said proudly.

“No, it’s for when I feel like an angel.”

“How do you feel like an angel?”

Twirling around now and playing with her hair, she said, “You know when you feel pretty and loved.”

“Oh”, I said.  “Do you feel like that a lot?”

“About everyday.  Everyday you and Daddy tell me how pretty I am and tell me that you love me, so it must be true.”

I was once told that I shouldn’t tell her she was beautiful everyday.  It would make her think a lot of herself.  Sorry, but the truth be told I want her to think a lot about herself.  I also want her to know without a shadow of doubt that she is special, loved and the most beautiful girl in the world to me.

Being a product of bullying and never feeling good about myself, I want more for my little girl.  I want more for you, and your little girl too!  I want everyone to know that they are loved, cherished and beautiful.

What we say matters more than what we think.  All the studies show that children who live with positive words of encouragement are more likely to succeed in life than those who life with constant criticism and ridicule.  That is why we have banned the words stupid, loser and the likes from our home.  There is no room for them here.  We try as a family to practice what we are instructed in Ephesians 4:29.  “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.”

We are warned over and over throughout the Bible that our words are powerful.    “Death and life are in the power of the tongue”, according to Proverbs 18:24.   What we say can affect someone far worse than what we do.  But,   “Pleasant words are as a honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.”  (Proverbs 16:24)

Our words have the power to change lives.  Think of the cashier who has a line full of customers.  Her credit card machine is on the verge of dying and her co-worker failed to show up for work.  You have the power in your words to make her day worth the struggle.  You may bring the only smile to her face.

Your words of a simple “Hello”, could stop a suicide of one who thinks no one notices them.  Your words of “hang in there” may encourage a woman to give her marriage one more try.  Your words of “God loves you” may lead someone to Christ.

In a world where we seek for peace, our words could make the difference.  Paul told the church in Romans (14:19) to “..follow after the things which make for peace, and things wherewith one may edify another.”  We never know what impact we will have on the world through the power of our words, but if they bring peace and comfort to one person it was worth making them good.

Give someone “The Angel Feeling”.  Speak words of encouragement and love to someone each day.

For I know~~Renee

Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

