SHATTERED

That’s what happened to our favorite picture. It was our favorite because it was a picture of the three of us on a Mission Trip together. This small 5X7 picture had been framed in a large wooden frame with writeable matting. Our church family had signed the mat with love, appreciation and well wishes and we proudly displayed it above our mantle for all to see.

Imagine our hurt and despair as we found it lying on the floor covered and surrounded by shattered glass. We just knew our precious gift was destroyed. However, when we began to pick up the shattered glass we found that frame was still intact. It was neither broken or scratched. The picture of our family was not marred from the many shivers of glass that lay on top of it.

I don’t know about you, but I have found myself occasionally knocked down.  I have found myself lying in the shattered pieces of a broken heart.  There have been times when the circumstances of life and poor decision-making on my part have left me marred and scarred.  But, never in my Christian life, have I found the framework destroyed.

As God’s child, I am held in His arms of protection.  When I am knocked down He lifts me up.  When I am shattered, He puts the pieces back together.  When I am marred and scarred by sin, He heals me.  But never am I destroyed.

Paul spoke of this to the church of Corinth as to “living by faith”.

“But we have this treasure in earthern vessels, that the excellency of the power of Christ may be of God, and not of us.  We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed;”  2 Corinthians 4: 7-9

He goes on to tell them in verses 14-18:Knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you.

” For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many rebound to the glory of God.  For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.  For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;  While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

So even when, my world crumbles, I am knocked down, I fall, I shatter, I break, I have the assurance, that God, will raise me back up.  He will mend my brokenness and He will heal my wounds.   My problems and troubles are but a fleeting moment, they will come to an end.  And He will be glorified for He will turn my mourning into dancing…

Thank You, Heavenly Father, that no matter what may come my way, I can not be destroyed, for You are my refuge.  You are my salvation, my deliverer, my sustainer,  Though I may stray, You will chasten me and restore my soul.  You will be with me through each heart-break, each tear, each failure.  You will be there.  May my lips never cease to thank You for your love and grace.  For in Your hands of mercy, I find safety.  In Jesus Name I pray. Amen.

“Hear, O LORD, and have mercy upon me; Lord, be thou my helper.  Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness; to the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent.  O LORD my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever.”  Psalm 30:10-12

For I know~Renee

Leave a Reply

