PUT ME IN COACH, I’M READY TO PLAY…

Closing out her bedtime prayers, my little girl added, “And Dear Jesus, please help my Papa.  I’m trying awful hard to trust you, but it is hard because I don’t know what you are going to do.”

So much honesty in her prayer.  Often times I feel the same way.  It’s hard trusting when we do not know what the game plan is.  We want written instructions and time to carefully read between the lines.  We want the green chalk board with the X’s and O’s and lines drawn as to where each will go.  “We want to go Lord, but could you drop us down a GPS?”  “Could we see the movie trailer?”  “Just get a glimpse of the script?”

Looking in the Hall of Faith, many times we wonder, Lord why can’t I be like them.  Why can’t I just trust you and move?  Look a little closer, each one of those listed had their fair share of faults and failures.  Abram and Sarah thought they were too old.  Moses was afraid to speak in front of a crowd.  Joshua had to be reassured.  Gideon needed prove.  Elijah needed a sign.   Jeremiah cried.  Isaiah didn’t think anyone was listening. David sinned.

So what makes them any different?  They moved when asked too.  They stepped out in faith.  Even old Peter stepped out the boat.  God’s not looking for people who think they are brave.  Instead He wants those that are afraid, fearful, and timid.  Those that don’t think they can.   Those are the ones He chooses to call out.  Those are the ones He makes into heroes.  Those are the ones who become a part of His-story.

One of my favorite stories in the New Testament is that one found in Mark 9:14-29.  A father had come to Jesus asking healing for his demon possessed son.  The son had been that way since childhood.  Jesus told the man, “If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.”  “And straightway the father cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.”

I think God made this man a part of His-story, just for me.  No doubt this father loved his son.  No doubt that he had tried everything he knew to make him whole again.  No doubt he sought help from countless sources, only to be let down.  Can you imagine never being able to hold your child again.  Not being able to comfort him or protect him.  Can you imagine his despair.  Then one day, you found this healer, the man they called Jesus.  You wanted to believe with all your heart.  You’ve heard of His fame from near and far.  Maybe, just maybe, He could heal my son.

I love the fact that Jesus did not call him out on his lack of faith.  I love it that Jesus had compassion on this man.  He saw more than a doubter.  He saw a man with a broken heart.  Jesus did more than heal his son, Jesus healed the father’s broken heart and gave Him the faith and hope he so desperately needed.

I am so glad God knows my heart.  He knows when I am struggling, and He knows that I still believe He is God.  I am so glad He sees beyond the fear and doubt to the soul of His child. Sometimes, there are no game plans, sometimes He simply asks that we trust the Coach.  In those times it may be hard, but we need to know that our failure to put complete trust in Him, doesn’t diminish His power or authority.

The Creator of the Game holds the game plan, and He is sovereign.  I am glad He is who He says He is, even when I am not.  He knows the outcome of each circumstance and He knows more than I what I can handle.

So put me in the game coach, I’m ready to play….

For I know~~ Renee

Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

