HIDE AND SEEK

My daughter loves to play hide and seek. From early years of peek-a-boo to later hiding in closets there is nothing like the thrill of being sought after. She loves to hear us walking through the house calling her name, wondering where she could be.

However, the game is not as fun when it is her turn to seek after me. She says it makes her heart beat faster because she doesn’t know when or where she will find me. She doesn’t like it when I can’t be found.

A few months ago, she wandered off from me in Wal-Mart. I watched her as she made her way around the other side of the toy aisle. I walked around the other side and hid behind the bike rack so that I could keep my eyes on her. I wanted to teach her a lesson, yet didn’t want to totally mess her up!

It didn’t take her long to find herself alone. I watched as fear filled her expression. I watched as her little lip began to quiver. Then I called out to her. “Mamma’s right here”. She ran to me and promised to never leave me again. And she hasn’t.

Oh, how I wish I could learn that easily. So many times throughout the Bible God has warned us to stay close. So many times He calls on us to seek His face and to follow after Him. But, so many times I wander off on my own.

David said in Psalm 27 that his heart longed to seek after God. In God, he knew he would find protection and peace. Yet, we all know that David, just like us, wandered away. The wonderful thing about God is He is a faithful Father. Even though David had strayed, God never stopped looking out for him. He never stopped loving Him.

Sometimes our Heavenly Father lets us learn the hard way. But, I am so thankful, He calls us back to His side. I am so glad when I cry out in fear and panic of being far from the Father, He hears my cry and says, “I am right here”. Turning around I have always found His arms open wide waiting for me to run back to Him.

“Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me. When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, Lord, will I seek. Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation. When my father and my mother forsake me, then the Lord will take me up. Teach me thy way, O Lord, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.” ~~Psalm 27:7-11

In Jesus Name, Amen.

One thought on “HIDE AND SEEK

  1. Pingback: HIDE AND SEEK | living in abundance

Leave a Reply

