This Girl Loves to Dance

I remember Daddy telling me:

“Just slack up on the rope. Let them have their way for a while, sooner or later they will hang themselves.”

What he was trying to teach me was self-control in the presence of my enemy. Over the years, I have found that to be true.

Often times when faced with criticism, unfair judgement, or false accusations we want to prove ourselves. In those rash moments of defending ourselves we usually end up making our enemies case. Most of the time we walk away not defended, but defeated.

Yet, when we allow the truth to be revealed in God’s timing, our reputations are exalted and we gain respect of all involved including our enemy. Self-control is one of the hardest virtues to obtain. Yet, it is the most rewarding.

Our culture says the man who walks away is weak, yet, God says that man is strong. It takes a much stronger person to allow themselves to be wronged in order to protect others. The self-controlled knows that in due time, God will exalt them and set them above the enemy.

The shepherd, warrior David knew how hard it was to practice self-control. God had anointed him King, but he was hiding in caves fighting for his life. On two different occasions David could have taken the life of Saul, but instead David practiced self-control and waited for God’s timing.

In Psalms 30:10-12, David is praising God for being his helper. He is exalting not himself, but God as the victor over his enemies. In return, God rewards David.

I don’t know about you, but for me the greatest victories has been when God exalted me. Those times when I tried to exalt myself, I walked away more humiliated and shamed than if I had just walked away. Self control isn’t an easy thing to obtain. It is one of the most precious and valuable treasures to be found.

“Hear, O Lord, and be merciful to me!
O Lord, be my helper!”
You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
you have loosed my sackcloth
and clothed me with gladness,
that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.
O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever!”

O Lord, be our helper. Be merciful unto us and remind us that You are our validation. You are our vindicator. Remind us that in due time You will exalt us and turn our mourning into dancing. You will clothe us in gladness. Remind us to be faithful to do what is right, even when it seems to cost us dearly. In those times, we know that You will reward us. Let our glory be found in You and not in ourselves. Then all will see You and will sing Your praises, for in You is our life and our very existence. Without You we are nothing, but in You we are Kings and Queens. Thank You for Your love, grace and mercy. In Jesus Name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “This Girl Loves to Dance

Leave a Reply

