It’s Too Early for Christmas

2096402ee058a6faae2c1c249675d47a

You are already tired of Christmas?  Burned out already from the endless displays of Commercialized Christmas decor.  What about those people who actually are singing Christmas carols already!  Why some have even downloaded Christmas ringtones on their phones!  Black Friday ads are already being “leaked”!  Why I can’t even watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” without hearing about an upcoming Christmas show!

It’s too Early for Christmas!

Right now I have millions of you agreeing with me, but I am getting ready to make your eyes roll.  You see I am one of those who starts singing Christmas Carols in June!  I am the one with the Christmas Ringtone already.  I am the one buying Christmas items.  I am the one whose eyes light up and whose heart starts pounding when the shelves start displaying Christmas decor.  I love Christmas, everything about it.  I can’t help it, it’s in my DNA!

However, I do agree that over the years it has become less and less about the true meaning and more on selfish desires.  But, it is never, never too early for Christmas.  Why  Christmas was talked about from the very beginning of time.  What?  Yes, after all, Christmas is about the Savior’s birth.  From the very moment that sin entered the world, Christmas started.  Abraham celebrated, Jacob and Isaac believed in it.  Moses proclaimed it.  Isaiah declared it!

The true meaning of Christmas goes beyond the feelings of a day.  It goes beyond a time of year.  True Christmas begins with confession in a Savior who was born many years ago of a virgin.  A baby who grew into a man.  A man who died for all mankind.  A man who was very human, but very God.

While I agree that it is over commercialized and the true meaning is lost for many, I can’t help but get excited when I think of Christmas.  I can’t help to think with each light I hang that Jesus is seeing it as a sign of my celebration of His birth.  Each time I wrap a present it is giving love just as I have received it.  Every decoration is my declaration of how special Christmas is to me.  I celebrate Christmas not because of what I get, but because of who I got.  I got Jesus.

I join Isaiah in declaring it Christmas all the time!  It is the time for Christians to celebrate and sing forth His praises.

But there will be no gloom for her who was in anguish.In the former time he brought into contempt the land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali, but in the latter time he has made glorious the way of the sea, the land beyond the Jordan,Galilee of the nations.

The people who walked in darkness
    have seen a great light;
those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness,
    on them has light shone.
You have multiplied the nation;
    you have increased its joy;
they rejoice before you
    as with joy at the harvest,
    as they are glad when they divide the spoil.
For the yoke of his burden,
    and the staff for his shoulder,
    the rod of his oppressor,
    you have broken as on the day of Midian.
 For every boot of the tramping warrior in battle tumult
    and every garment rolled in blood
    will be burned as fuel for the fire.
 For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given;
and the government shall be upon[d] his shoulder,
    and his name shall be called[e]
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of his government and of peace
    there will be no end,
on the throne of David and over his kingdom,
    to establish it and to uphold it
with justice and with righteousness
    from this time forth and forevermore.
The zeal of the Lord of hosts will do this. 

Isaiah 9:1-7 (ESV)

So with each decoration and each light:

I celebrate happiness!

 I celebrate joy!

 I celebrate peace!

 I celebrate love!

 I celebrate hope!

 I celebrate LIFE!

I celebrate JESUS!

I pray as He looks down from Heaven, He sees my offering of praise.  I pray that as He looks down from Heaven, He smiles and His eyes glisten as He sees that I am celebrating the abundant life He has given me.  I pray that each of us, when shopping in the mass crowds will smile and declare IT IS CHRISTMAS!  I pray that each of us as we hang lights will remember that our Savior came so that we would no longer walk in darkness.  I pray with each ornament and decoration that we remember that He has given us the spoil of the land.  With each meal may we remember it is He who came to feed us.  With each gift may we remember it is HE who is the gift. With each ringing of the bell I pray we boldly proclaim

IT IS CHRISTMAS!!

and because it is Christmas, there is peace on earth!  Because it is Christmas there is joy!  Because it is Christmas there is happiness to be found.  Because it is Christmas there is love!  Because it is Christmas there is hope!  Because it is Christmas there is a life to celebrate!  Because it is Christmas~~I celebrate and I rejoice.  Because it is Christmas I have a reason to live.

Because of JESUS

–It is Christmas, always.

2 thoughts on “It’s Too Early for Christmas

  1. Starting December I take out a small wooden crib and place a box of straw beside it. The kids get to put a piece of hay inside the crib after doing a special act of kindness or making some sacrifice. This way the baby Jesus has a soft crib when “St. Nicholas” places the baby Jesus in the crib Christmas morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

