Blessed and Highly Favored…..

74d271c26bfdff260c362f4ce6045ba0

And in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God

unto a city of Galilee, named Nazareth,

To a virgin espoused to a man whose name was Joseph,

of the house of David; and the virgin’s name was Mary.

And the angel came in unto her, and said, Hail,

thou that art highly favoured, the Lord is with thee:

blessed art thou among women.

And when she saw him, she was troubled at his saying,

and cast in her mind what manner of salutation this should be.

And the angel said unto her, Fear not, Mary:

for thou hast found favour with God.

In the past 7 years that I have been in Women’s Ministry there is one thing that I have found.  We have way too many women who live life of defeat.   A large number of us are defeated by the lies that we are not good enough for anything.  We have bought into the notion that we can not make a difference and that no one really cares about us.  There is nothing more pleasing to our enemy, Satan, than we accept these lies as truths.

The young teenage girl Mary most likely felt the same.  Being a woman myself, I can only imagine how Mary’s mind begin to react to the message Angel told her.

“Surely he is mistaken.  Me?  I’m not a princess or of royal lineage.  I’m not even the daughter of a priest?  How can this be?  I am a nobody.  I’m just a peasant girl from the backwoods of Nazereth.  My father has no great wealth or fortune.  Why, even my Joseph, my sweet and dearest Joseph, is nothing more than a common carpenter.  What have I to offer?  What have I to give?  He must be confused, there is no way that I could find such favor in God’s eyes. No, it can’t be, it just can’t be.  He must mean someone else…..

anyone but me.”

Mary had been taught and raised in the Jewish heritage.  She had her life all planned out.  Any day now, Joseph would come calling for her as his bride and they would marry and start a family.  Her life was just supposed to be an ordinary one, anything else, was well, nothing more than a dream.

But, God is the dream keeper and enhancer.  

He takes our little dreams and turns them into even greater realities.  

The KJV says Mary was troubled.  The ESV, the Holman, and NIV translates that she was deeply troubled.   The Living Bible says she was confused and disturbed.  And her mind began to do the thing that all women do–it began to spin out of control.  “Cast in her mind” means that she reckoned thoroughly.  She reconciled and she deliberated.  It means she tried to reason it out.  She pondered.  She supposed and considered what might be.

How could the Almighty, the God of Abraham, the I AM choose her?  What could she possible do for Him?  Why would He distinguish her above all other women?  She was just an ordinary girl, yet, God wanted to bless her and make her happy.  God had upon her love for Him and favored her.

You and I ask the same thing.  Why would God want me?  What would I have to offer Him?  How can I possibly bring Him any glory or honor?  Surely there must be some mistake.  Surely there is someone else more qualified than I.

76a8174dda4e92a4b1c770ecad31adfe

Thankfully, God does not see us as we see ourselves.  He sees beyond the outward and into the depths of our hearts and souls.  He sees beyond our limited abilities to our possibilities.   He knows our dreams, yet has even greater realities for us.

 Release your dreams into His hands and let Him do for you what He did for Mary.  He took the dreams of an ordinary girl of starting a family, and gave her the reality of the King of Kings as her firstborn.  Just as He blessed Mary, He wants to bless you.

Over  and over throughout the Bible, God speaks of His great love for us.  With each sunrise and sunset, He says it again.  With each wave that crashes on the shore, He says I love you.  With each mountain He declares the magnitude of His love and mercy.  The birds sing of His wonderful compassion.  He showers His blessings on us with each raindrop that falls.  He hears our cries, and He heals our brokenness.

God loves us.  He loves us!!!  The Almighty, the Creator of all the world, loves you and has placed favor and honor upon you.  In His eyes you are highly treasured.  You are a cherished and wanted child of His.  No matter where you are or where you have been, He longs to love on you.

I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made:

marvellous are thy works;

and that my soul knoweth right well.

My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret,

and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.

Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect;

and in thy book all my members were written,

which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.

How precious also are thy thoughts unto me,

O God! how great is the sum of them!

If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand:

when I awake, I am still with thee.~ Psalm 139

0932a7f3abe4568e2dbb786122d9d969

He knows all about us, yet He has set us apart, distinguished us among people.  He has placed upon us His robe of royalty and righteousness.  We are His.  There is nothing we can do that will ever make Him love us less.  No you are not Mary, but you are blessed and highly favored in His eyes.

So lift up your head,

for you have found favor with God.

You are blessed among people.

God loves you!

 

One thought on “Blessed and Highly Favored…..

Leave a Reply

