Why, Mama, Why?

4d5c319efc607b7b20bc2e60f62198eb

I spent over an hour last night consoling my seven, soon to be eight-year-old, daughter in my arms as she cried.  She cried over hurt feelings.  She cried because things change.  She cried because she did not understand.  She cried because life’s not fair.  She cried in anguish of facing what tomorrow might bring.  She cried and asked me, “Why?”.

I have spent the hours since that time reflecting on her innocent plea for knowledge.  I answered the best this Mama could, and tried to reassure her in my comforting embrace, that in time all things would work out.  I tried to keep my answers positive and full of assurance.  I reminded her that we needed to trust God.  I called to her mind the many Bible stories we have read and how God took care of His people.  I prayed with her and for her.  And I prayed for myself, because in my own heart there are  thousands of  “WHY’s” that I do not have answers to.

Why would someone harm an innocent child?  Why would someone murder another for a few bucks?  Why do we hurt each other with words that can’t be taken back?  Why does my friend have cancer?  Why did my love one have to die?  Why can’t I seem to get ahead?  Why must things seem so bleak?  Why does abuse abound?  Why must there be so much suffering?  Why should one family be faced with such tragedy?  Why must families fall apart? Why can’t we live in peace with one another? Why can’t we  love one another like we should?  Why, Lord, why?

Through the midst of my own tears and questions, comes a still small voice.  It echoes a familiar verse.  Our Sunday School lesson was on based on it.  Our minds know it by heart.  It is a verse that is found on many cards.  It is framed and hung on many walls.  It is painted on canvases and printed on shirts.  It is the theme and background of many songs and sermons.  Where ever we  look we find this verse, yet we still don’t get it:

“Be still, and know that I am God:

I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

~Psalm 46:10

 

Why does God want me to be still?

To be still means to be calm and rational, to let go and relax.  It means to stop worrying, stop fighting and striving.  It means to be free from turbulence and commotion, without waves.  To be still I must be peaceful, motionless, stationary and silent.

We’ve all seen someone overcome by panic.  We’ve watched as their emotions raced out of control.  We’ve watched as they would jump from one conclusion to another searching frantically for answers.  We’ve thought they need to get a hold of themselves.  We’ve watched them fall apart as fear and anxiety took control of their life.  We’ve been that person.  We’ve been there ourselves.  God can’t hold me in His arms if I am racing around irrational.  He can’t reassure me if my mind is overwhelmed by chaos. Our loving Father calls for us to be still.

Be still, let me hold you.

Be still, let me reassure you.

Be still, and let me love on you.

Be still and hear my voice of peace.

He not only calls for us to be still, but He wants us to know.  To know is to perceive or understand as fact and truth, to comprehend clearly with certainty.  It means we have established and fixed our minds on the truth.  To know means we have been acquainted with by sight, experience or report.  To know means you are able to distinguish truth from lies.

772737b0f296bd2d089810558700eb56

Be STILL AND KNOW….

Know that I Am God.  Remember Who I am.  Recall what you know to be the Truth.

Know that:

I AM

YOUR FATHER

YOUR HEALER

YOUR CREATOR

YOUR PEACE

YOUR HOPE

YOUR REDEEMER

YOUR DELIVERER

YOUR TREASURE

YOUR PROVIDER

YOUR SALVATION

YOUR ADVOCATE

YOUR ROCK

YOUR MESSIAH

YOUR ANCHOR

YOUR MEDIATOR

YOUR TEACHER

YOUR CARPENTER

YOUR BRIDEGROOM

YOUR COUNSELOR

YOUR PRINCE

YOUR FAITHFUL KING AND LORD

YOUR FRIEND

I AM

Know that all you need I AM.  I AM your God.  I love you with an everlasting love.  I have never failed you, nor forsaken you and I never will.  I have overcome the world, and you will too.  Nothing catches me off guard.  Everything that happens to you is ordained and blessed by ME.  Not a tear falls from your eye that I don’t see.  Not a question forms in your mind that I don’t know.  Not a prayer goes unheard or unanswered by Me, your Father.  Trust Me and Know Me.   I will make all things work for your good.  Behold, I make all things new.  

As a soldier is commanded to be still, to trust what he knows, and to wait for his commanding officer’s instructions so are we.  God is commanding us to be still in the presence of the enemy, to wait for instructions, to trust what we have been taught and wait patiently for instruction from our Commander.

He’s gone before us.  He sees the future.  He knows what we need best.  Be still and know….

Know your God.  Know that He is in control of all things.  Know that He will never fail you.  Know that He is your I AM.

Father, help us to remember Who You are.  Remind us of Your faithfulness, of Your love, of Your mercy and of Your grace.  Remind us that we are more precious to You than any treasure we could name.  And, Father when the “Why’s” come, remind us that we are never alone.  Remind of that in time all things will be revealed.  Remind us that You make all things new.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

4965b26735c912ca99c1b624a252a43c

20 thoughts on “Why, Mama, Why?

  1. What a wonderful post. In the midst of the hurt, the pain, the storms, to still praise Jesus and trust Him. He is all those things… so powerful and awesome. My pulse quickened as I drank in the Truth you wrote. How many people need to hear, know, and believe. And one day there will be no more tears. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kristen for such encouraging words. My husband and I had been married for 10 years before our daughter was born. We had almost given up on having our own child, when God blessed us with her. She truly is a gift from God. He has taught me so much about Himself through her. God always knows what to give us and when to give it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so hard to be still in the pain. It’s equally difficult to stop asking, “why?” Unfortunately, we often don’t know “the why” behind the ways of the Lord. Faith is about trusting that God has our best interests in mind. It sounds like you have a good grasp on this and our instilling these beliefs in your daughter. How lucky she is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

