Always and Forever….

0f0fd50bbae6860ad4baab93650aefce 

I settled down in my spot.  My comfortable spot with my feet resting ever so sweetly on my over sized stool. A glass of cold Sierra Mist awaited me on the right side and a bowl of popcorn was nestled up close on my left.  In my hands I held my Kindle.  My resting place.  My finger touched the screen and there it was, my next Karen Kingsbury Novel.   Let the relaxation began……

“Mama!  Mama!”

came a frightful call from the bedroom.  I jumped up quickly causing my Kindle to hit the floor.  No time to pick it up now though.  I ran to my little girl with my husband and dog trailing on my heels.

“Here I am.  Mama’s right here.”

She sat up sobbing and reached out for me when I came near. I crawled in the bed beside her and began to comfort her.

“Are you alright?”,  I asked while gently wiping the tears that were running down her cheek.

She shook her head and mumbled, “I am now.”

“What happened, baby?  What scared you?  Did you have a bad dream?”

“I woke up, it was dark and you weren’t here”, she said between sniffles.  “I knew if I called you, you come, so I did.  I just need you here, holding me.”

Snuggling close, I began stroking her hair.  “It’s okay now, Mama’s here.  Mama’s got you.  Mama’s here.”, I said while placing kisses on the top of her head.  “Mama’s got you now, everything is going to be alright.”

I felt her little body relax and drift back off to sleep.  As I lay there, tears began to fall from my own eyes.  My heart overwhelmed within me as God once again showed me a glimpse of His love.

“That’s what You do.  

You come to me.  

When I am alone.  

In darkness.  

Afraid.  

You come to me.  

Always. 

Always.

I cry,

“Jesus, Jesus.” 

And You run to me. 

Your feet run swiftly through my darkness causing it to vanish.

Your love lights the night.

Your peace fills my mind and soul. 

Your arms of comfort assure me that all is well.

Your love covers me and I know I am not alone.

You pull me close and say “I Am here.  I’ve got You.  I’m here.”

You kiss my head and say, “I Am with you.  Everything is going to be okay.”

You come to me.

Always. 

Always. 

Your truth hits me hard as an ocean wave that crashes on the shore and then gentle pulls back revealing the treasure hidden in the depths of Your love.

“Rejoice evermore.  Pray without ceasing.  In every thing give thanks:

for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice evermore…. Rejoice.   Rejoice in my Always.  I bring you joy by rejoicing in you, because I KNOW You are here.  You are always here.  Always.

You’ve always been.  Never leaving.  Always leading, guiding, teaching, holding, carrying me.  You are my God.  The lover of my soul.    My Faithful Father.   And You do not change.  How blessed am I.  Yes, because of Who You are I can rejoice evermore.

When my world seems up side down, You are still my Always.  When everyone else leaves me, You remain Always.  When everything falls apart, You hold me together, Always.  Always.

To say Thank You, seems such a small sacrifice.  And yet, it is all I have, all You ask for.   It is my offering, the one You long for and accept. For it is through my thanksgiving, that You are glorified.  Oh, that I may bring You glory.  Oh, that my words of thanks may cause others to see Your beauty and majesty.  Oh, that my heart could contain it all.  Oh, that my eyes would never cease from crying out praise to You, the One Who comes to me, always.

Forever let my soul rejoice in Your grace and mercy.  Forever let my tongue declare Your sweet name.  Forever let my voice sing of Your love.  Forever let my heart overflow with thanksgiving.  Forever let my eyes see Your glory.  Forever let my mind be drawn to You. Forever let my soul dwell with You, oh, God my Father.

Forever let me seek my

ALWAYS

“I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.  My soul makes its boast in the LORD; let the humble hear and be glad.  Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together!”

“I sought the LORD, and He answered me and delivered me from all my fears.  Those who look to Him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.”

“This poor man cried, and the LORD heard Him and saved Him out of all his troubles.” ~Psalm 34:1-6

Lord, I don’t want to ask for anything.  I just want to say thank You.  Thank You for being my Always.  Thank You for being my Forever,  my God and Faithful Father.  My heart and soul swell with the over abundance of love that You continually pour out on me.  Thank You for giving me this Abundant Life.  Thank You for seeking me, loving Me and making me Your own.  Thank You for Your gift of Salvation.  Thank You for teaching me that it is not what I hold in my hands, but what is in my heart and soul that matters.  Those are my true treasures.  And no one can take that from me.  Thank You, my Jesus for hearing my cry and coming to me, Always.  Always.  Always. With a humble heart full of gratitude, I say Thank You and Amen. 

34c698576896c86886e828b4ddcf2e1d

**Dedicated to my husband, Mike Kinlaw.

14 thoughts on “Always and Forever….

  1. I, too, get lots of quiet messages from God through my daughter. Loving her has taught me so much about how He loves us in spite of us. When she is snarky or disrespectful, I see the times I acted that way towards my parents or towards God, and can respond to her and God completely differently. I know God can use anything to reach us, but it is the sweetest music to my heart that He uses my kiddo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

