WHAT’S IN YOUR HANDS?

720fa4ac2033681b9e19b13b1b7f12ef

Serving as Ministry Assistant of our Baptist Association, I am constantly asked is there a new program that will help my Sunday School, my Ministry, my group. There is a program, but it’s an old one. It has a quaranteed promise to work.

It’s written in red, signifying the author as Jesus himself.  It is found in the 32 verse of John chapter 12.

“And I, if I be lifted up from the earth,

will draw all men unto me.”

But, there is a catch~it must come from a pure heart. The Apostle Paul was telling the Corinthian church that very same thing in 2 Corinthians. In chapter 6, he was calling for them to put aside every idol.

“What agreement has the temple of God with idols? For we are the temple of the living God; as God said,

I will make my dwelling among them and walk among them,
and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.
Therefore (E)go out from their midst, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch no unclean thing;
then I will welcome you, and I will be a father to you,
and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.”

~ 2 Corinthians 16-18

An idol is anything we put before God. Including ourselves, our family, our church, our ministry, our mission, our position in the church. Although each one is great, we must not allow them to take presidence over God. Look deep within, ask yourself what am I lifting up? Then ask God, to reveal the truth to you. Am I lifting up idols, instead of Jesus?

“Since we have these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit, bringing holiness to completion in the fear of God.” ~ 2 Corinthians 7:1

God is faithful to forgive. If we are going to see our churches come alive with power, then we have to cleanse ourselves and put away ALL of our idols. We can’t lift Jesus up with one hand. It has to be both.

I encourage you to do as I am doing today, take a close look at your life. What do you see? What is most important to you and why? Are you truly doing things for Jesus or is there another purpose behind it? If you are brave enough, ask Jesus to inspect your life. But beware, this can be very painful. The truth hurts, but it heals.

Father, I thank You for being faithful to forgive me when I sin. Because I stand before You now, with the stains of sin on me once again. Open my eyes to the truth. What’s in my hands, Father? Who am I truly lifting up? From the guilt that overflows my heart, I know that it isn’t completely You. I have idols that need to be put away. Cleanse me once again. In Jesus Name I Pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

