REDEEMED….

Redeemed

O Lord, thou hast pleaded the causes of my soul; thou hast redeemed my life.”

~Lamentations 3:58

To help my daughter recover from a winter filled of sickness, I encouraged her to help me make a flower garden.  We started with a few simple flowers and from there we have grown into several varieties of flowers all over our yard.  Tomorrow morning we have six pots of plants, which started as seeds, that need to be integrated into one of our various beds.  What was once a plain, grass and sand lot has flourished into a cozy oasis of many colors and fragrances.  Out all the flowers we have my favorite has to be my lavender osteospermum.  

I’ll never forget when we got it.  Jayden and I along with my husband, Mike, and niece Ashlyn were at Wal-Mart.  Of course, Jayden and I had to go by the garden section first.  We looked around at all the flowers.  Most of them we had one like or either I thought was to expensive at the time to purchase.  (I am a little cheep.)   We made our way around the fenced in area to the back where a few wilted and practically dead flowers had been marked down to 25 cents.  Our precious osteospermum was among the dried up flowers.  

Mike and Ashlyn laughed as I asked Jayden if she wanted to get this flower.  It only had 1 small dying flower on it.  Most of its leaves were crumbling and what remained were already turning yellow.

 Mike laughed, “Ummm…that flower is dead.  

That’s why it’s reduced.  It’s d-e-a-d, dead. “  

My niece laughed and thought he was very funny.  Jayden and I did not see it that way, though.  We saw something that needed help and nurturing.  We believed that little plant was worth a shot.  We took him home.  Fixed him a new place within our flower garden.  Each day we checked on him.  We watered him and loved him.  Then one day, we noticed something.  

It was a new bud.  

Over the next few days it slowly opened.

Then there it was.  

The most beautiful little flower I have ever seen.  

It’s been about 3 months since then.  Our little Osteospermum has grown a lot since those days.  To look at him now you would never believe that he was about to be discarded as trash.  Twenty-five cent is what it cost to redeem him.  

Twenty-five cents….

Redeemed Collage

Now, he takes up 1/2 of the planter box.  I have to take several snapshots in order to get all of him in.  All because someone thought he was worthy of being Redeemed.  

I am so glad that over 25 years ago, Jesus thought I was worth Redeeming.  I look back over the years and I see how far, His love, grace and mercy have brought me.  Just like my little flower, I was sitting alone, broken, dying and in need of a Savior.  I’ll never get over the day, Jesus, looked on me with compassion and said all she needs is to be loved. 

From the moment He took me into His loving care, I have been nourished, loved on and cherished.  I am precious in His sight.   He took away  all the ugliness of my sins and mistakes and made me beautiful.  He took what was dead and useless and gave me life of joy and happiness.  

He looks at me, now, and smiles because He knows where I have come from.  He looks at me and rejoices because He knows where I am headed.  Everything that I am, all the good in me, is because of His tender grace and mercy.  Because He loved me, I am free.  Free to be the woman He created me to be.  With confidence I can spread my wings and venture into the unknown knowing that He is with me always.

He has blotted out my sins.  I know longer have to walk around in guilt and shame.  The regrets of the past are nailed to His cross.  I am His and He is mine.  I am His precious flower.  He looks at me with pride and calls me Daughter.  No longer sitting on the shelf, disgraced and unwanted.  Now I reside with Him and all the days of my life are His treasure.

I have blotted out, as a thick cloud, thy transgressions,

and, as a cloud, thy  sins: return unto me; for I have redeemed thee.

 Isaiah 44:22

And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh,

hath he quickened together with him,

having forgiven you all trespasses; 

Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances

  that was against us,

which was contrary to us,

and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;

Colossians 2:13-14

Jesus, I can’t thank You enough for redeeming a wretch like me.  Thank You for Grace and Mercy.  Thank You for the compassion You lavish on me day after day.  I am so unworthy, but so thankful, that you have given me the honor to be called Yours.  Thank You for taking not only my sins, but also my shame, guilt and regret and nailing it to Your cross.  Your love for me is so overwhelming.  It is too much for me to comprehend, yet I know that it is real.  As long as I live, I will sing praises unto You for all You have done and all You have promised to do.  I love You Lord.  In Your Precious Name I pray, Amen.

7 thoughts on “REDEEMED….

  1. Pingback: REDEEMED…. | living in abundance

Leave a Reply

