NO NEED TO FIGHT…

stand still

I have been studying the story of the Widow of Nain. There is so much to this “simple” story. Today, we were on the second line of verse 14: “and they that bare him stood still”. As I focused on this, God brought back to my mind Exodus 14:13.

The children of Israel were between the Red Sea and the Egyptian Army. All hope seemed lost. There was no way of escape from the impending doom. Yet, Moses commanded them to stand still….

“And Moses said unto the people,

Fear ye not, stand still,

and see the salvation of the Lord,

which he will shew to you to day:”  

That day the children of Israel did something they had never done before.  They walked on dry ground through the walled waters of the Red Sea.

Another time in Joshua, chapter 3, God calls for His people to Stand Still and see His mighty hand of Salvation as they are preparing to cross the Jordan River.  In Second Chronicles, chapter 20, the Children of God were faced with a mighty enemy.  The children of Moab and of Ammon had joined forces and were waging war against King Jehoshaphat and the people of Judah. Again, God sends the message to stand still.

And he said, Hearken ye, all Judah, and ye inhabitants of Jerusalem,

and thou king Jehoshaphat,

Thus saith the Lord unto you,

Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude;

for the battle is not yours, but God’s.  

Tomorrow go ye down against them:

behold, they come up by the cliff of Ziz;

and ye shall find them at the end of the brook,

before the wilderness of Jeruel.

 Ye shall not need to fight in this battle:

set yourselves, stand ye still,

and see the salvation of the Lord with you,

O Judah and Jerusalem:

fear not, nor be dismayed;

tomorrow go out against them:

for the Lord will be with you.

~2 Chronicles 20:15-17~

I can see this poor mother grieving for her son. All hope lost. I can hear the deep groaning that comes from a heart completely shattered.  Nothing could stop the pain and agony she was going through. Until Jesus stepped into the scene.  Not only did He have compassion on her, He showed it to her.  He went beyond speaking words of sympathy.  He reached out and touched her son’s coffin causing everyone to stand still.  And there in the middle of her greatest battle, she saw the Salvation of the Lord.  She meet the Redeemer of Life.

In the midst of our chaos and uncertainty, when facing the tallest giants, or facing our most feared enemy, He’s calling for us to “Stand Still and see the Salvation of our Lord.”   And when we do, we will see a miracle that only God can do.  The Battle is not ours, but the Lord’s.  Standing still seems such a strange thing to do when facing trials and tribulation, but it is what God calls us to do.  When we follow His command, our obedience will yield victory.

battle is the Lords.

Father, remind me to Stand Still.  To stop squirming in fear, but totally trust in Your power and authority over any type of battle that I may face.  Let me be blessed, by seeing You move in ways that only You can.  Take these battle’s Lord, they are Yours anyway.  I was never meant to fight them, only look to You as my Salvation, my Redeemer, my Lord.  Thank You for the victories.  May I ever praise Your name for all You have done and continue to do.  In Jesus Name, I pray.  Amen.

17 thoughts on “NO NEED TO FIGHT…

  1. I have the hardest time with this–and in fact, I have been praying a very similar prayer about my fears regarding my kids. Satan really has a way of getting into a mother’s head, doesn’t he. I have been asking God to physically hold me–so tightly that I cannot move if I wanted to. When that fear grips my heart–I can feel him gripping me. We are so blessed to have a God like Him! Thanks for a great post–I can soooo relate to many of the Bible characters you mentioned!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good word! It can be really tough to stand still in our faith and trust God — I always think he needs my help!

    I’m also learning that spending time in the Word strengthens our spirit in a way we can’t explain.

    Loved it! Your use of language is awesome too — thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

