Lifestyle vs. Lovestyle

Broken and Spilled out

Been studying the Woman with the Alabaster Box and I have been really challenged with this ~ Do I have a Christian Lifestyle or Lovestyle?  Read with me Luke 7:44-46, and pay close attention to verse 44.

44 “Then turning toward the woman he said to Simon,

“Do you see this woman?

I entered your house; you gave me no water for my feet, but she has wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You gave me no kiss, but from the time I came in she has not ceased to kiss my feet. 46 You did not anoint my head with oil, but she has anointed my feet with ointment.” ESV

What happens to us? Where along the do we lose that deep-rooted love for Christ. Just like Simon, I find myself caught up trying to “do the Christian thing” and I miss out on the most meaningful part of being a Christian~~Loving Jesus.

Simon was a devout Religious Person, but he lacked the most important thing. It’s a very fine line and if we are not careful we will find ourselves on the wrong side.  This sinner woman was on the right side.  She knew who she was without Christ.  It is reflected in her tears.  Her love for her is reflected in what she did for Him.  It was all for Him.  She wasn’t there to impress or change the mindset of anyone, she was there to love on the one who had loved her even when she was unlovable.

We need to examine and ask ourselves:

1-Why am I doing what I am doing?

2-What attitude do I have for the things of God?

3-Who receives the glory, me or God?

4-Have I forgotten what it was like to saved?

5-When was the last time I attended church or a worship service for the sole purpose of loving on Jesus?

6-Is Christianity a lifestyle or a lovestyle?  Am I trying to impress man and God by the way I live for Jesus or the way I love Jesus?

I think the reason we as Christians are growing cold and our churches are dying is because we have forgotten what it was like to be in love with Jesus. Other things are more important now than our relationship with Him.  Lifestyles can overwhelm leaving us depleted.  Lovestyle is constantly renewing, it never runs out and never leaves us empty.

“Do you see this woman?”

This is what Jesus wants from you, true and sincere love. Not some program, not some new thing, but going back to the beginning when you first fell in love with Him.
Father, forgive me for being so wrapped up in the “God things” and not focusing more on the true “God Thing” ~ a personal, close and intimate relationship with You. I don’t want to and I can’t live a day without Your love, but yet, You don’t always get mine. Forgive for the days that I fail to love You like I should. Fix my eyes on You again Lord. I want more than a “lifestyle” I want a genuine “lovestyle”. I want to chase after You with everything that I have. I want to love on You like You love on me. Fix me, Lord. Fix me. In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

