Even Then.

I hate not being able to be at church. But, with my fever coming back yesterday, here I sit on my couch another Sunday morning. I  just cannot shake this bronchitis crud. However, there has been one constant thing that has brought me some joy these past three Sundays–watching my church family as they arrive for church.
Watching them park their cars has become a real treat for me.  Hey, don’t judge, I have nothing better to do.  So, I have started a parking competition for those who back into their parking space. I’ve watched the perfectionist as they have backed in, pulled up, backed in again, and again, and again. I’ve watched as some have backed in and not care if they were in straight or even if they took up 2 spaces. And, then I have watched as some put it in there perfect with the first try.
As I have watched them, I have been reminded of the simple truth that there are all types of people. No one better than the rest cause we are all flawed. My daughter hits the nail on the head with her view of the human race–

“We are all made of dirt. No need in thinking

you are better than anyone else.”  

Everyone seems now to be looking for a way to make the world better. Forgive me if I am wrong, but I believe if we are going to make a difference in this world then we must learn to except one another as we are. It’s not about how they park or how they dress that causes me to love my church family. It’s the person on the inside.  The one beneath the make-up, hair and stylish clothes.
Each of us have been given our own unique skills and personalities. To try to change those are to say that God messed up. The one who laughs a lot may seem annoying at times, but you have to admit, their laughter has brought a smile to your face more than once. The know it all can drive you crazy, but if you stop to listen they do have good advice. The silent one may seem odd, but what they have to say is often done in action instead of words. The one who talks all the time may cause you to roll your eyes, but they are real, often opening up about their own struggles and failures and leading the way for many.

You see it takes all of us to make this life worth living.

No one person can be all things. And, let’s face it, it gets pretty boring and depressing being alone. Life was meant to spend with others. Sharing common interest as well as uncommon interest. Who knows that uncommon thing maybe the next thing God is leading you to.
My morning devotion today came from Matthew 22:37-40:
37 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.
38 This is the first and great commandment.
39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.
40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

The basic truth is–if we love God

we are going to love one another.

There is no other way. It is a solid truth that can not be disoriented or distorted. And, if we truly love God and one another we can accept each other, with all our beauty and all our flaws.
I challenge you to reach out to someone and genuinely love on them regardless of how they park in this thing called life!  Not only will it make their day brighter, but yours too!

 

One thought on “Even Then.

  1. Pingback: Even Then. |

Leave a Reply

